This site contains information from January 2009-December 2014. Click HERE to go the CURRENT website.

Office of Policy and Strategic Planning

The Office of Policy and Strategic Planning develops strategic policy priorities and provides policy counsel to the leadership of the Department of Commerce. Specifically, the Office of Policy and Strategic Planning works with the Department's leadership by:

Strategic Planning

  • Developing strategic policy priorities
  • Planning and coordinating the implementation of policy initiatives that support these priorities

Policy Counsel

  • Supplying timely and relevant policy advice to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary
  • Providing feedback to Bureau leadership regarding Administration and Department perspectives

Policy Coordination

  • Engaging bureaus within the Department to ensure coordination and integration of policy initiatives with secretarial and Administration objectives
  • Leading cross-bureau initiatives and supporting the implementation of bureau-led policy initiatives
  • Offering policy input into secretarial communications by coordinating bureau policy input

Policy Outreach

  • Synthesizing input and ideas from the Administration, the private sector, non-profit organizations and the academic community to inform the Department's policy formulation process


  • John Ratliff — Director of Policy and Strategic Planning; Senior Advisor to the Secretary
  • Catherine Barrett — Deputy Director of Policy and Strategic Planning
  • Samuel Fuller — Interagency Fellow
  • Andrew Grotto — Senior Advisor for Technology
  • Scott Handler — Special Advisor
  • David Langdon — Senior Advisor for Economics and Statistics
  • Sara Li — Confidential Assistant
  • Joshua Mandell — Senior Advisor for Innovation and Competitiveness
  • Erin Sparks — Senior Advisor for Manufacturing
  • David Talbot — Special Assistant
  • Jeff Weiss — Senior Advisor for Standards and Global Regulatory Policy
  • Thomas Wyler — Senior Advisor for Trade and Investment

Contact Information

Office phone:
202-482-4636 (FAX)

Mailing Address:
1401 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20230

For information about news releases and speeches, please visit the newsroom or contact the Office of Public Affairs at 202-482-4883.